TEZ–2019 Concluded

ICAR Sports Tournament 2019 Concluded at ICAR-NRRI, Cuttack 

The Closing Function cum Award Giving Ceremony of the 5-day long ICAR Sports Tournament for Eastern Zone 2019 (TEZ-2019) was organized at ICAR-National Rice Research Institute, Cuttack on 22nd November, 2019. ICAR-NRRI, Cuttack bagged the “Zonal Overall Championship Award” among the 19 institutes participated in the event based on total winning scores.
ICAR-NRRI, Cuttack also received Gold Medals in various team events like Football, Volleyball Shooting, Kabbadi, Basketball, 4 x 100 metr Relay Race, Carom (Men) and Chess (Women), while Gold Medal in Volleyball Smashing was won by CRIJAF, Barrackpore (Kolkata), Table Tennis (Men) by ICAR-NINFET, Kolkata and Table Tennis (Women) by ICAR-NRC Orchids, Sikkim among the total 34 events played during the Tournament. Mr. Kit Bok J.M. Wriang of ICAR-NEH Complex, Barapani (Meghalaya) was felicitated as the Best Athlete (Male) Award and Ms. Ankita Ghosh of ICAR-CIFRI, Barrackpore (Kolkata) was felicitated with the Best Athlete (Female) Award. Mr. Abdul Javir Khan of ICAR-IVRI, Izatnagar, UP bagged the Gold Medal in 5000 meter Cycle Racing and Mr. J.K. Meena of ICAR-CIJAF, Barrackpore (Kolkata) bagged Gold Medal in 1500 meter Race. In addition, all senior sportspersons about to superannuate before the next zonal tournament were also felicitated by the Chief Guest during the event.
Dr. Himanshu Pathak, Chief Guest of the function and Director, ICAR-NRRI, Cuttack distributed trophies and certificates to all winners and champions of various Singles/ Doubles/Team events and congratulated each and every individual participant for showing true sportsmanship during all these days. The Chief De-Mission and Managers of various teams expressed great satisfaction about the hospitalities provided to them and thanked the host ICAR-NRRI, Cuttack for excellent arrangements during the tournament.
This meet was attended by more than 500 players from 19 ICAR Institutes spread across 13 states located in Eastern India (Odisha, West Bengal, Bihar, Jharkhand, Uttar Pradesh and all north-eastern states of India). Apart from participants, hundreds of NRRI staff and sports lovers from nearby areas witnessed the Tournament. At the outset, the Organizing Secretary of the meet Dr. Rabindra Kumar Sahu presented welcome address and at the end the Administrative Officer Shri Basanta Kumar Sahoo offered formal vote of thanks.

Chief Guest and Director, ICAR-NRRI Dr Himanshu Pathak giving trophies to winning teams Chief Guest and dignitaries giving trophies to winning female sports persons
Chief Guest and dignitaries giving trophies to winning male sports persons Chief Guest with ICAR-NRRI Team after felicitating with the Overall Zonal Championship Trophy
Chief Guest and Director, ICAR-NRRI Dr Himanshu Pathak addressing the gathering Senior most sportspersons of the zone being felicitated by the Chief Guest and dignitaries on dais