Industry-Farmer-Institute Meet – 2018 organized at ICAR-NRRI, Cuttack

‘Industry-Farmer-Institute Meet – 2018’ organized at ICAR-NRRI, Cuttack
ICAR-National Rice Research Institute, Cuttack organized an ‘Industry-Farmer-Institute Meet’ on 1st December 2018 in its premises with the objectives of displaying of NRRI varieties and technologies and to interact with the representatives of various organizations/industries working on seed, rice milling, farm machineries, pesticides, fertilizers, agro-processing etc. as well as state department officials. About ninety representatives from industry, rice millers, seed growers etc. from West Bengal, Assam and Odisha had participated actively in this meet and discussed about recent developments, expectations, constraints in rice seed industry, rice milling and rice farming, respectively and their possible solutions or suggestions for improvement. On this occasion, the Golden Jubilee Year (1968-2018) of release of ‘Padma’, the first rice variety of NRRI, Cuttack was celebrated in which an accolade on ‘Padma’ was released by the Chief Guest and the Director. A research bulletin on ‘Contribution of NRRI rice varieties to national food security and farmers’ income’ was released by the chief guest.
Dr. J.K. Roy, Ex-Joint Director, ICAR-NRRI, Cuttack and eminent rice breeder was the Chief Guest of the Program, who called for active collaboration among the industry, farmer and institute for the benefit of nation and get the benefit for all the stakeholders. Dr. H. Pathak, Director and Chairman of the event briefed the participants about NRRI, the varieties developed, technologies generated and their Industry readiness. A press meet was also organized on this occasion, in which the importance of NRRI technologies and varieties for ensuring food and nutritional security of the country was discussed. At the outset, Dr. G. A. K. Kumar, Head, SSD welcomed the participants and guests and briefed the audience about objectives of the program. Dr. B. Mondal, coordinated the event and Dr. N.N. Jambhulkar proposed vote of thanks.